The Natural Bud

Blossoming into a Healthier Lifestyle

Happy Memorial Day

Leave a comment

memorial-day-flag2

I hope I’m as kind a stranger as the tall, well-dressed brunette I passed outside Costco this Saturday.  I had gotten my shopping cart, then realized I was at the wrong entrance (the entrance for the tire shop).  So I’m walking around outside Costco, pushing my cart and feeling ridiculous that I can’t find the entrance.  As the lady pushed her cart past, I laughed to myself, figuring she must think how lost I look 🙂  She looked at me and said, “You look beautiful.”  Made me smile and look for ways to brighten another stranger’s day.

Looking back, the overall Costco experience that morning was extremely pleasant – a bit surprising, considering the “Memorial Day crowd” was there already.  It could be that everyone was excited about the weekend with family – or maybe my 6-month-pregnant belly bump made everyone more considerate of me.  In any case, I’m thankful and encouraged to be kind to those around me. You never know what they’re going through.

photocredit: memorialday-quotes.com

photocredit: memorialday-quotes.com

On that note, Happy Memorial Day!  I’m so grateful for the freedoms we experience in this country.  For those of you who are veterans or have veterans in your family, please know that we deeply appreciate their service and the sacrifices they have made on our behalf.

“If you ever see a soldier, shake his hand and thank him.” – my dad

photocredit: memorialday-quotes.com

photocredit: memorialday-quotes.com

Leave a Reply

