The Natural Bud

Blossoming into a Healthier Lifestyle

Home Birth Part 2: Active Labor & Transition

Leave a comment

Stage 2: Active Labor

By around 1 p.m., Aunt Joan stayed in the bathroom most of the time. At one point, I asked if they wanted to watch a movie (thinking it would help distract me), but then when Jason went to look for a movie on his phone I didn’t feel like watching anything. During active labor, Jason was using his “contraction app” on his iphone, and he would ask if my contraction had started – when I started groaning. Finally after one contraction, I said (nicely :), “If I’m groaning, I’m having a contraction.” Aunt Joan laughed, and reminded him that when I don’t want to talk/joke anymore, it’s getting into active labor (although at that point I still was able to laugh about it – between contractions).

My mom was in and out for a while – bringing me food and water, and doing whatever was needed. I got in and out of the tub – some of the time I would get out and do more sway/dance moves, then get back in. After one contraction, I felt nauseous again and actually did vomit. It was a relief. I prayed for strength and told God I didn’t think I could handle contractions back to back, I was so tired. He was so gracious. For a long time, I was able to sleep in the 7 minutes between contractions. Even though I was groaning and yelling, and in pain, throughout the labor I thought it didn’t seem bad for a first labor – progressing quickly, able to sleep in between contractions, etc.

Stage 3: Transition

Finally around 4-5 p.m., I started saying, “I can’t do this anymore.” Aunt Joan said, “this is good.” I knew it meant I should be getting close.
Some of the comments I made during/after contractions: “let’s adopt the rest.”
As I got toward transition, I kept saying… “I can’t do this anymore.”
Jason: “Yes you can, your body was made for this.”
Me: “Pray for me.”
Mom: “We’ve been praying for you, but we’ll pray out loud.” At this point I was out of the tub, leaning against her, doing some of the dance/sway moves. She prayed out loud for me.
Me: “God, help me.” (or just “help me.”) “How can I do this?”
Jason: “Your body was made for this”
Me: “I don’t know how I can do this.”
Aunt Joan: “I know this spot, this is a rough spot.”
Mom: “It’s okay, the baby’s coming soon”

IMG_3264

Since I was apparently in transition, we decided to get Lois on FaceTime (my younger sister, who was in the Philippines studying midwifery). (My cousins Ruth & Hannah were watching, too, but they stayed out of the screen most of the time); Lois muted her phone because she didn’t want us to be distracted by their commentary. (I was kind of curious to hear them though!) Once in a while I would look at her and smile (not during contractions). She only unmated it to say I was doing a good job. 🙂
I was in the tub most of the time (kept getting in and out). They had said near the end you can’t get comfortable. Anyway, the hot water and dance moves helped. I completely forgot about Bradley visualizations and quoting Scripture (I’m sure that would’ve helped!). I tried to help Jason remember how to massage my muscles (big strokes). Anyway, he was sweet – doing everything he knew to help and encourage me. He told us later that he felt bad because he was saying, “You can do it!” and in his mind he was wondering, can she do it? is this deceptive? But he knew they needed to bump up the cheerleading.

Leave a Reply

