The Natural Bud

Blossoming into a Healthier Lifestyle

Blossoming into a Healthier Lifestyle

Leave a comment

I’m embarrassed when I remember my diet in high school – and even in the beginning of our marriage … but if you’re struggling to live a healthier lifestyle, then this should give you hope :).

My sister reminded me not long ago that I used to come home from school and grab a piece of white bread to eat. I responded, “Oh that’s gross.” I had completely forgotten! I do remember that if there were Twinkies available (which wasn’t very often in our house), I would go straight for them and eat way too many. In the first few months of our marriage, hamburger helper and Ramen noodles were our staples. (You’d be surprised how many different ways you can cook Ramen noodles!)

It won’t surprise you that I had a lot of health problems during college. More on that later, but my health problems were the catalyst to revamping our lifestyle choices.

Now our two favorite “grocery stores” on Staten Island are Trader Joe’s and Costco. Our staples are fresh fruit/vegetables, coconut milk, smoothies etc. We’re excited about the expanding organic section in Costco!

— Laurelyn Rose

Leave a Reply

